Start a conversation

User Role Capabilities

User Roles

  • Owner: Automatically has all permissions. There can only ever be one owner, the owner cannot be deleted
  • Admin: Has all permissions, except being able to transfer ownership of the blog
  • Editor: Has permissions to manage their posts, and the posts of authors. Also has permissions to add and edit author users.
  • Author: Has permissions to create and edit their own posts, and their own user details
  • Contributor: Has permission to create their own unpublished posts, and edit their own user details
  • No-Auth: User who is not authenticated - i.e. a reader on the blog

Capability breakdown

Capability Administrator Editor Author Contributor Non-Auth
Overall User Interface
view ‘Settings’ in admin menu X X      
view ‘Your Profile’ in user menu X X X  X  
edit ‘Your Profile’ in user menu X X X  X  
Settings
view general blog settings X        
edit general blog settings X        
view users settings X X      
Users
invite users X A*      
revoke invites to users X A*      
view other users X A*      
edit other users X A*      
delete other users X A*      
browse X X X    
add admin X        
add editor X        
add author X X      
add contributor X X      
Roles Users
assign X X (role = author)       
view X X X   X
browse X X X   X
Tags
edit tags X X      
add tags X X X    
delete tags X X      
Content List
browse all posts X X      
browse own posts X X    
Posts
create new posts X X X  X  
publish posts X X X    
edit own posts X X X    
edit other’s posts X X      
delete own posts X X X    
delete other’s posts X X      
Slugs
generate X X X    
Database
import content X        
export content X        
delete all content X        
browse X        
add X        
delete X        
Mail
Send X        
Send test mail X        
Notifications
X – Yes
A* – Authors only


Owner Special Rules

  • There can only ever be one owner
  • Owners cannot be deleted or have their role downgraded
  • Owners have a single additional capability, to transfer their ownership to another user. If this is done, the owner becomes an administrator.
Choose files or drag and drop files
Was this article helpful?
Yes
No
  1. Sarah Frantz

  2. Posted
  3. Updated